Thoughts Like Dewdrops

November 9, 2021


What I Heard…

David and Saul, a sermon by Paul David Tripp (click link for audio)

Summary (21 words!): Tripp uses the story of Saul’s death to illustrate how the actions of three men either serve God or serve themselves.

My Notes: 2 Samuel 1

David has had victory against the Amelekites

Saul’s son dies against the Philistines and Saul “falls on his own sword”

What happened to Saul to cause this to happen?

How do I participate in the “killing of my own faith”?

Am I what my experience has made me or is what rules my heart controlling my behavior?

Consider where our hearts might lead us by looking at the lives of these men:

• David

• Saul

• Amalekite messenger

1 Samuel 31-

a Historical account of Saul’s death

The journey of Saul:

Anointed by God as king of Israel

Spirit of God given for task as king

Celebrated by others

Military victories

Then

Discouragement

Disobedience

Rebellious

Jealousy

Obsessiveness

Loss of the Spirit of God upon him

Seeks counsel outside of God’s

What is the journey of my relationship with God?

• Growth

• Desire to learn from God

• Understanding of God’s purpose

• Participation in ministry

• Love for God

• Love for people

• Worship of God

-OR-

• Compromise?

• Coldness?

• Lack of commitment?

• Falling away?

• Turning away?

Hebrews 3:12-13

“Watch out, brothers, so that there won’t be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart that departs from the living God. But encourage each other daily, while it is still called today, so that none of you is hardened by sin’s deception.”

Hebrews 3:12-13 HCSB

https://bible.com/bible/72/heb.3.12-13.HCSB

Rationalizing sin

Dismissing the truth of scripture

Not addressing conviction

Cutting myself off from God

Saul’s suicide is a rebellion against God.

My conclusion:

Saul’s suicide is the culmination of actions which caused the death of his faith.

What can I learn from Saul’s behaviors as a caution to not participate in the killing of my own faith?

Side story:

The Amalekite uses Saul’s suicide to create benefits for himself. He wanted the appreciation for what he had done for Saul AND against Saul at the same time. But he had completely missed how he had defiled who Saul was as anointed King, loved by his people, at his base, a human who had just caused his own death.

How do I use the misfortunes of others to my own benefit?

David, on the other hand, displays the epitome of love for one’s enemy.

Dave gives honor to Saul at his passing, recognizes the impact of his death and draws people together to bring closure for them.

How can I love my enemies as I recognize how they are loved by God with a purpose and a story that can point others to God and His glory?

What do I celebrate?

What do I mourn?

How can the willing submission of Jesus for my benefit give me hope so that I might go forward I love for the glory of God?

Is He my ONLY HOPE?

Published by Just Gina

Christian-Wife-Mother-Teacher

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started